Friends of Fine Arts

The DC-G Friends of Fine Arts organization supports the fine arts programs of the Dallas Center-Grimes School District. FOFA (as it has been historically called) boosts the fine arts. Instrumental and vocal music, theater, dance, art programs, and individual and group speech activities are all supported by this group of volunteers! If you have a child in the fine arts program, you are an important part of FOFA, and we need everyone’s help to be successful.

With your donations and support of our events and programs, we have been able to purchase instruments, uniforms, dresses and robes for our choirs, provided banquets for our student leaders, offered scholarships and so much more. We hope you can continue to provide these things now and for future generations of DCG kids. Join us for a meeting – held the 1st Tuesday of every month at 7pm in the HS Choir room during the school year – (see remind notifications and follow us on facebook for summer meetings times and locations)

To receive notifications about FOFA meetings, events, and volunteer opportunities, click here or text @dcgfofa to 81010).

tickets icon facebook icon

Events
Support
Leadership
Minutes

dcg students wearing all black putting on a playFOFA Nights

March 23-24, 2018

Thank you to all involved with the 2018 FOFA NIGHTS events. It was an amazing display of talent from our students as well as a generous display of volunteer time from our parents and staff. The event would not be possible without you! With your help, we hope to continue this wonderful event for years to come. If you have ideas on how we can improve this event, we’d love to have you on the planning committee for next year. FOFA Nights planning for 2018-19 has begun. Dates are still being confirmed. Email us at fofapresident@gmail.com if you are interested in getting involved.

 

GLOFA Run

April 20th, 2018

A fun filled night of fundraising with friends and fitness. We walk, jog or run with our peers and community members for the Friends of Fine Arts. There will be glow in the dark shirts, glow in the dark accessories and plenty of smiles! Bring your friends and family members out and join in on the fun.

The GLOFA 5K Run/Walk began in 2016. This will be the third year Friends of Fine Arts hosts this event. GLOFA is a fundraiser for the Dallas Center – Grimes Friends of Fine Arts (FOFA).

Last year, over 292 people participated. This year we hope to be able to have 400 participants, providing for even more fun during the event and additional funding for our fine arts programs at DC-G community schools. This is a great non-competitive event for families.

This year the GLOFA 5K Run/Walk will take place on Friday, April 20, 2018. We will again offer 1 mile & 5K events at the Grimes Sports Complex at dusk. Participants registered by the deadline will receive a glow-in-the-dark T-shirt designed by a former DC-G art student.

Please take a look at your calendar and plan to join us again this year. For more information and event updates, ‘like’ the FOFA Facebook page and RSVP to the GLOFA 5K Run/Walk event!

 

Registration Form

 

The Amazing Race

Look for us in your neighborhood this fall! With our school district growing it is becoming increasingly difficult to get to everyone’s door, so also look for our membership forms to hit your mailboxes in July.

If you have a child in the fine arts program, you are an important part of FOFA. DC-G Fine Arts opportunities supported through FOFA would not be possible without our generous and dedicated DC-G families.

Donate

Volunteer

Amazon Smile (Select Dallas Center-Grimes Friends of Fine Arts from the charity recipients list and .05% of qualifying purchases go to FOFA)

Officers:

Kathy Fortune – President
Deann McAninch – Vice President
Jeff VandeKieft – Treasurer
Lisa Thompson – Secretary

Board Members:

Amy Forbes, Publicity Chair
Ben Ihde
Addie Vance
Janet Stevens
Sarah Schaefer
Stacey Frett
Tracy Koch
Wendy Becker

Teacher Representatives:

Elementary Fine Arts: Pam Short, tandpshort@gmail.com
Michelle Breach, mbreach@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Amy Cory, acory@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Danell Duncan, dduncan@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Bonnie Idhe, bidhe@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Lisa Maifeld, lmaifeld@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Lisa Tekippe, ltekippe@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Mikayla Whitney, mwhitney@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Middle School Fine Arts: Sarah Schafer, scoutgem@mchsi.com
Joy Augustine, jaugustine@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Chris Crandell, ccrandell@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Nicole Pitts, npitts@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Meadows Fine Arts: Janet Stevens, jstevens@mueller-yurgae.com
Steve Britt, sbritt@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
April Busch, abusch@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Heidi Steger, hsteger@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
DC-G High School Art: Wendy Becker, wsb@gorjc.com
Mike Burgher, mburgher@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
DC-G High School Band/Jazz Band: Wendy Becker, wsb@gorjc.com
Craig Crilly, ccrilly@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
DC-G High School Choir/Jazz Choir: Lisa Thompson, lethomps01@gmail.com
Eric Mohlis, emohlis@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
DC-G High School Drama/Speech: Sarah Schafer, scoutgem@mchsi.com
Jane Altman, jaltman@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Katt Merriman, katypmerriman@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Anne Frett, afrett@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
Kar Gustafson, kgustafson@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us
DC-G High School Show Choir: Lisa Thompson, lethomps01@gmail.com
Jim Shutt, jshutt@dc-grimes.k12.ia.us, Luminosity

January 2018